You are here: Home » Product Reviews

Product Reviews

Thank you for preparing these resources [for the 2017 Case Study].  We have been delighted with your previous efforts. Michael James, Head of Economics and Business Studies, Sutton Valence School, December 2016

Thank you for all the very useful material you have provided once again to help teach this year’s Unit 4b.
Phil Spencer, Head of Economics and Business Studies, Ratcliffe College, February 2016

Please find attached an order form for resources ... I purchased your Unit 4 Material last year, and was very happy with what you sent me. Our results were also very good too for that unit! 
Tom Cannon, Head of Economics & Business, Blackheath High School, September 2015

I wanted to say another big thank you for your wonderful Unit 4b [Obesity Case Study].  My 3 A2 students, for the case study paper, got 93, 93 and 98 (out of 100) UMS marks.  I know that they would not have got this without the help of your pack.
Joanna Gregory-Newman, Head of Economics and Business, Wychwood School , August 2014

Thanks for an outstanding piece of work [Unit 4b Obesity Case Study] that saves my own background reading preparation time.
Julie McCrory, Head of Business, IT and Economics, Abbey College, Ramsey, April 2014

The level of detail that you used [in the Unit 4b Obesity Case Study] quite blew my academic socks off… We felt that this resource gives our students an edge.  With excellent coverage of both the pre-release material and the syllabus this was a fantastic buy for our school. The students have responded well to the material and we have been able to use the guide as a springboard for their further discussion and research. Where the resource is mapped directly to the syllabus there really is nothing else on the market that is a comparison.  All theory is neatly woven into the pre-release theme and written in student speak which is accessible to all levels of learner.
Sarah Hilton, Head of ICT and Economics and Business, Derby High School, February 2014

Thank you for putting together an awesome product [Unit 4b Rail Transport Case Study] for an affordable price.  Afifa Shah, Central Bedfordshire College, April 2013

The [Unit 4b revision] session went down VERY well with the students, they thought it was extremely useful and it has made them think about the case data in another light.
Nicky King, Head of Economics & Business, Radley College, June 2012

We have your Topic Tests for A level Edexcel Business Studies.  They are all fantastic as they allow us to give the students focused exam questions on specific topics so that we can more easily pick up on areas that students find challenging. An excellent resource. 
Rachel Fraser, Head of Business Faculty, Queens Park Community School, London, April 2012

Once again your folder for the Unit 4b case study is comprehensive, well written and incredibly useful.  The students are appreciative of your analysis. 
Nigel Edge, Head of Economics and Business, Farlingaye High School, April 2012

Unit 1 textbook - Brilliant for the most able students to be able to explore the subject fully.
Rob Blyth, Head of Economics, Business and Enterprise, Dallam School, April 2012

Unit 1 textbook - Up to date, topical .. . user friendly.  The fact that it relates so closely to the course makes me feel more confident when teaching.
[Name and address supplied]

Unit 1 textbook - Excellent content, relevant case studies, useful diagrams
[Name and address supplied]

Unit 1 textbook - Up to date, relevant examples, clearly laid out
Sophie Desgland, Subject leader, Hewett School, April 2012

[Topic tests and Unit 1 textbook]  Just a note to say how impressed I am with the Unit tests for Units 1, 2b & 3.  I mean both the quality of the assessment and of the general presentation/packaging.  Many thanks! The textbook is impressive, too. 
Mark Christie, Head of Economics & Business Studies, Bryanston School, March 2012

Your [Unit 4b Road Transport] Case Study is extremely thorough and saves me hours of extra research & time… we definitely intend to keep on using it.
Tiffany Spencer, Economics and Business Teacher, Ratcliffe College, February 2012

[Unit 1 textbook]  My students and I find the information very clearly written and explained.  It is brilliant to have access to some quality resources. 
Laura Mackay, Teacher of Economics and Business Studies, Priesthorpe School ,  January 2012

Previous reviews

Please can I place an order for the Unit 4b Transport Case Study ... As usual the last case study pack was invaluable for me to use with my class…. it gives me another perspective when discussing issues, whilst saving me alot of time researching the topic.
Nicola McDermott, Head of Economics and Business Studies, Our Lady’s Convent School, Leicester, July 2011

Can I please order a copy of the Transport Case Study; I can’t work without it!!
Joanna Gregory-Newman, Head of Economics and Business, Wychwood School , June 2011

We have found this resource [Unit 4b Broadcast Media Case Study] extremely valuable - the overview of the theory and the direct application to the Case Study have developed our students - and ourselves - hugely - giving us a direction to go in to interpret the evidence.
Glenys Duggan, Lecturer and Programme Manager, Economics & Business, PETROC , May 2011

I am a big fan of your Economics and Business resources.  They provide a brilliant range of practice questions, answers and notes that are undoubtedly the best around for the Edexcel exam.
Andrew Spencer, Year 13 student, Queen Elizabeth’s School, Barnet, May 2011

The topic tests are excellent and have allowed us to conduct meaningful assessments in the style of the external examination more regularly.
Jon Brook, Head of Business Studies, Droitwich Spa High School , March 2011

I am extremely impressed with the Unit 4b Revision Guide on Broadcasting.  Cramming a lot of material into less than 100 pages, the author has managed to cover the theory in sufficient detail, as well as applying it comprehensively to the Broadcast Media industry.  As well as being an excellent text for students, it is invaluable reading for any teacher preparing to deliver this unit.
Garry Ryan, Head of Business Education, St Augustine’s Catholic College, January 2011

I am really impressed with the Unit 4b Broadcast Media Case Study. The amount of research is phenomenal. It has really deepened my understanding of the industry and saved me a huge amount of time. I am really confident about preparing lessons to deliver Unit 4b thanks to the quality of the Case Study - and highly recommend it to all colleagues.
Bob Kersey, Head of Economics and Business, Blackheath High School January 2011

[Topic Tests]  I have not felt our students so well prepared [before] for the January exam series and I put this down, in no small part, to Gerald Wood’s Topic Tests.  Staff and students found them indispensable.
John Brameld, Head of Economics and Business Education, Burntwood School, February 2011

[The Unit 4b Broadcast Media Case Study] – This is invaluable.  The media leaves me cold.  Without your resource I would have had great difficulty in applying it to market failure.
Janet Kearns, Curriculum leader of Business and Economics, Guiseley School, January 2011

[The Unit 4b Broadcast Media Case Study and Topic Tests] – Very useful, excellent quality
Karen Hannay, Beaumont School, Economics teacher, January 2011

[The Unit 4b Broadcast Media Case Study] – Well researched, well written – a great starter resource that has saved me hours of work.
Maureen O’Neill, Head of Economics, Chesham Grammar School, January 2011

[The Unit 4b Broadcast Media Case Study] – Really good quality, well-researched resource.  This has been a ‘godsend.’  Thanks.
Tracey Bell, Head of Business and Enterprise, St Peter’s Catholic Comprehensive School, January 2011

[The Unit 4b Broadcast Media Case Study] – A life saver – even more than usual.
Piff Howells, Head of Economics, Business Studies and Politics, Simon Langton Girls’ School, January 2011

Topic Tests, Unit 3 - very good at focussing on each section. Currently undertaking Topic Tests in the final weeks before the A2 exam. Students are finding them very helpful.
Marion Rumble, Head of Business and Economics, Shrewsbury High School, January 2011

I integrated Gerald’s excellent case study on ‘Alcohol’ into my teaching programme for Unit 4b. Not only did this resource save me hours of planning time but my students were able to use it to help their independent learning and to prepare fully for the examination. I was more than delighted with their examination outcomes of 6 A grades and 4 B grades from 14 entries. I should add that the results for this Unit were the most successful of the four units entered by our year 12 and 13 students. A lot of the credit should go to Gerald - thank you so much!
Marko Krlic, Head of Economics and Business Studies, Mount St. Mary’s College, November 2010

Your material is so useful and worth every penny for us.
Rebecca Sohotha, Subject leader for Economics, Business and Enterprise, Rastrick High School, September 2010

We have ordered every year since the outset, and have found your resources save us so much time and effort - invaluable!
Louise Craig, Head of Business & Economics, Thornton Grammar School July 2010

We have found your resources for Unit 3 International Business invaluable - thank you so much.
Shirley Wells, Head of Business Studies, Colchester Sixth Form College May 2010

I have recently purchased your resources for Unit 1, Unit2b, Unit 3 and Unit 4b. These resources have been absolutely invaluable - they have saved me what seems like hundreds of hours preparation time.
Katherine Buff, Head of Economics and Business Studies, Redland High School May 2010

“I have previously ordered the Unit 4B case study which I have found very useful. Two out of three students achieved an A grade!”
Maria Doe, Head of Business and Economics, Kent College April 2010

Bought your unit 4 revision pack, the kids took the exam in January, 5/11 got grade A’s. Three had aspirational grade A targets, probability targets of B. One had an aspirational grade C. Thanks so much.
Tracey Bell Head of Business and Enterprise, St Peter’s Catholic Comprehensive School, March 2010

I think the Gerald Wood guide is the most useful resource I have for teaching the pre-seen evidence unit
Ann Shephard Head of Economics and Business, Kelly College, January 2010

You have tackled a much needed gap in the market with this resource. It is excellent - we use it every year. It includes more than enough resources / questions / research in there so can be excellent for differentiation. Never stuck for ideas!
Kam Sangha Head of Economics and Business, King Edward VI High School for Girls November 2009

Very pleased with the Case Study on Alcohol. Thorough and interesting. Much appreciated as it helps me in the classroom.
K Hannay Economics and Business teacher, Beaumont School, Hertfordshire November 2009

Crucial to student learning. The challenges of longer questions make the need for background understanding essential. The Case Study offers this, and practice questions.
Rob Blyth Head of Economics, Business and Enterprise, Dallam School, November 2009

Preparing students for the Unit 4b case study is helped by access to wider information than the pre-issued evidence. The internet allows teachers scope for researching the topic and materials but there is an obvious cost in time and energy. Gerald Wood clearly enjoys collecting and collating material which he then supplements with relevant questions of his own. Teachers with limited time, energy or access will find Gerald’s materials valuable for their students to use and as a stimulant to their own thinking. The relatively modest charge for his resources makes this a low risk purchase with significant potential value.
Brian Ellis, Chair of Examiners

Submit a Review

If you would like to add a Review, please email it to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) with your name, position and school.